Cruising Trip

San Francisco Catamaran Sailing

leave a comment »

I recently had the opportunity to cruise the San Francisco Bay aboard a majestic catamaran sailboat. I had never been sailing before, and didn’t quite no what to expect. I enjoyed the trip so much that I already have plans to return again. The cruise started in San Francisco on Pier 39 of Fisherman’s Wharf, near a colony of grunting sea lions. This site alone was an experience. The tour lasted about 1.5 hours. During that time, we explored many highlights of the bay including Alcatraz Island, Sausalito, but the highlight was traveling under the Golden Gate Bridge. It’s beauty was even more marvelous and the experience left me goosebumps.

I wasn’t hungry or thirsty but there were drinks and snacks available on board. I suggest bringing warm clothing though, because it can get windy and chilly riding on the open waters. The estimated high that day was a chilly 52 degrees, but that didn’t take into account the wind chill. However, you can go below deck into the interior of the boat if you wish. I wanted to experience the bay first hand though, so I remained on deck the entire time.

The tour I went on was in the afternoon, but the sailor told me they also offer a sunset sailing cruise. I would imagine my positive experience would only be intensified sailing at dusk. The tour guide was friendly and offered lots of interesting knowledge about the San Francisco Bay area.

The only thing I wish was different about this San Francisco Catamaran Cruise would be its difficulty getting a ticket. These catamaran boats are really popular and I had to reserve a time over a week in advance because the company was all sold out of tickets. A week in advance seems reasonable, but if you are looking for a last minute excursion a San Francisco catamaran sailing cruise may not be right for you. Of course, San Francisco offers a plethora of activities to do, but not many of them offers the thrill and beauty of this tour.

Written by Leon

March 25, 2009 at 7:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment